All icons in task bar look like Power Button!

Re: All icons in task bar look like Power Button!

Postby Maroman » 07 Nov 2013, 07:03

LEE337 wrote:I disagree. I don't see how a video card (hardware) can make the wrong icon (software) show up on the screen. My guess is
maybe instead of guessing we can prove it in some way. let try reverse procedure. first uninstall video card. if all is ok the problem is in different place. then uninstall ram and check the icons. step by step installing-uninstalling software or hardware gives more detailed answer. and maybe all answers are wrong? computers are exactly like our teeth :evil: . you feel the pain but it's difficult to find the reason. we call it 'bad mzimu' :twisted: (cp. http://swahili_english.enacademic.com/10666/mzimu)

cheers,
ride my bike,
User avatar
Maroman
 
Posts: 369
Joined: 02 Jun 2013, 09:17
Location: Warsaw Metropolitan Area, Poland

Re: All icons in task bar look like Power Button!

Postby LEE337 » 08 Nov 2013, 05:45

Maroman wrote:maybe instead of guessing we can prove it in some way. let try reverse procedure. first uninstall video card. if all is ok the problem is in different place. then uninstall ram and check the icons. step by step installing-uninstalling software or hardware gives more detailed answer..


Sounds like fun! I have a few min now, I'll start with the Video.
"Unfortunately, it seems that the only way I can learn something new is to use the crappiest hardware available!"
-Lee
LEE337
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 22 Oct 2013, 09:22

Re: All icons in task bar look like Power Button!

Postby LEE337 » 22 Nov 2013, 09:05

"Unfortunately, it seems that the only way I can learn something new is to use the crappiest hardware available!"
-Lee
LEE337
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 22 Oct 2013, 09:22

Re: All icons in task bar look like Power Button!

Postby Pry » 22 Nov 2013, 09:13

I don't see how it is connected with the problem.
Peter Ryzhenkov, Point Linux Lead Developer.
Pry
Site Admin
 
Posts: 425
Joined: 11 Feb 2013, 09:58
Location: Russia

Re: All icons in task bar look like Power Button!

Postby LEE337 » 23 Nov 2013, 07:14

Pry wrote:I don't see how it is connected with the problem.



Ever since the icons have disappeared, I am getting black in the notification area too.

Image

I think that it may have something to do with the OpenChrome video drivers. I've been trying to find the VIA drivers, but I haven't had much time to work on it lately.

0000000-cfffffff
*-display UNCLAIMED
description: VGA compatible controller
product: CN896/VN896/P4M900 [Chrome 9 HC]
vendor: VIA Technologies, Inc.
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:01:00.0
version: 01
width: 32 bits
clock: 66MHz
capabilities: pm agp agp-3.0 vga_controller bus_master cap_list
configuration: latency=32 mingnt=2
resources: memory:c0000000-cfffffff memory:fb000000-fbffffff memory:fc000000-fc00ffff
"Unfortunately, it seems that the only way I can learn something new is to use the crappiest hardware available!"
-Lee
LEE337
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 22 Oct 2013, 09:22

Re: All icons in task bar look like Power Button!

Postby Pry » 24 Nov 2013, 05:13

Do you use a custom theme? Don't you think it's because of the theme?

As for VIA - they are really famous in making crappy hardware and drivers. Correct me if I'm wrong.

You've got notebook, right? Because I'd just recommend replacing it with cheap nVidia graphics if not.
Peter Ryzhenkov, Point Linux Lead Developer.
Pry
Site Admin
 
Posts: 425
Joined: 11 Feb 2013, 09:58
Location: Russia

Re: All icons in task bar look like Power Button!

Postby LEE337 » 26 Nov 2013, 09:14

I'm on the standard theme with the slideshow background that you included.
Yeah I understand it's crappy HW, but It's the best of what I have to spare right now.
It's a tower not a laptop. I was trying to stay with the OB video, cause I not gonna do anything intensive with it.

Is there an 'apt-get' to install the VIA driver? the OpenChrome tut's I found didn't work.

BTW, now I've lost the border and Min, Max, and Close buttons on all of the windows/Prog's I open! (but the menu bar is still there.)

Image
"Unfortunately, it seems that the only way I can learn something new is to use the crappiest hardware available!"
-Lee
LEE337
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 22 Oct 2013, 09:22

Previous

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron